Meet the Lecturers: Aikaterini Karadimitropoulou

In our next Q&A, meet Dr Katerina Karadimitropoulou

Katerina getting into the festival spirit at Tomorrowland Festival

Can you tell us a little bit about your background and main interests in economics?

My initial interest in the field was sparked by an aptitude for mathematics and a love of current affairs. I chose to study a BSc in Economics and Econometrics at the University of Kent to ensure I could understand the news I heard and read on a daily basis. While studying for my MSc in Economics and Econometrics also at Kent I discovered a taste for research and developed a passion for teaching. I was the one doing the lectures and I absolutely loved it! I didn’t have time to think about carrying on to study for a PhD. I took the challenge, and here I am today at UEA combining my passions and doing a dream job.

What do you think makes studying Economics at UEA special?

The friendly atmosphere and the interaction between staff and students is a practice that students will not experience in many other universities. Students are open in asking questions, knocking on our door, and this ensures they usually have the answers to all their questions.

How do you embrace modern technology in your teaching methods?

I use the clickers. It is always nice to have a ‘Who wants to be a Millionaire’ kind of game incorporated in teaching, without the million pound in game unfortunately. This gives a good fill of the percentage of students that have actually understood and followed what I have said. It gives me a clear idea of when concepts need to be repeated.

What do you enjoy most about your job?

I love both the teaching and the research front. I particularly enjoy the interaction with students. Feeling that I transfer knowledge really full fills me.

How do you engage with students both inside and outside of classes?

My students know that in the classroom I’m their lecturer and outside of it I can be a person who they can talk to about any kind of concerns. My office hours are usually full of students because of this. They will approach me for both academic and personal matters. I also pretty much never miss any social event organised between students and staff. Needless to say, that on the week-ends, they could easily spot me out…I have a life too!!

What should students expect from their first year?

Importantly, they need to integrate into this new environment. The transition is enormous from High School to University. They should enjoy every moment of their student life and they should learn to find the balance between studying and partying. There is room for both when you are a student…not only in your first year but throughout the degree. Finding this balance is key in ensuring they will have the best experience during those 3 years of studies.

What are your interests away from academia?

Travelling, Dancing, Badminton and a good night out with lots of cocktails.

Leave a Reply

